Managing Your Local Workspace
The IDE Extension manages both your script and user config files in a local workspace folder. Since scripts and user configs are actually NamedUserItems in the platform, and the script or config contents are stored in the NamedUserItem’s _userData property, the extension will save the _userData to a local file. You can then work on the content of the script or the user config locally. When you commit the script or user config back to the platform, the extension will update the _userData for the respective NamedUserItem.
You can select the folder where your local workspace will be saved.
By default your workspace will be set to your user’s homedir.
Select a Local Workspace Folder
- From the extension menu in the top right corner of the panel select “…” > “Set Local Workspace”
- Using the dialog select the folder you would like to use
Managing Local Files and Platform Data
The extension manages scripts and user configs much like a source control extension such as git. When you open a Script or a User Config, the editable content is saved to a local file in a workspace on disk.
Local Workspace and File States
In the extension tree panel a file can be in one of these three states:
- Not Local - A file in this state will have a white cloud icon. In this state the editable content of the file has not yet been saved locally or has been removed.
- Local and Unchanged - A file in this state will have a code file icon in a color matching the type of file. A file in this state has been saved locally to your workspace and matches the file currently saved on the platform.
- Local and Modified - A file in this state will have an orange alert icon. A file in this state has been saved locally to your workspace and does not match the file currently saved on the platform.
Files can be edited and saved locally, then updated back to the platform.
The extension will manage a trackfile in your local workspace. This trackfile keeps track of the connections between your local files and the versions of the files in the platform. Deleting or renaming this file will cause your local workspace to become out of sync, and is not recommended.
Local Changes and Concurrent Editing
As soon as a script or config is opened locally, there is the chance that it could be changed by someone else on .
To ensure that changes are not accidentally overwritten, the extension checks during commit to see if a newer version of the script or config has been committed since the item was opened locally.
If so, a warning will display with a suggestion that a 'Diff with Local' be performed before commit. If changes are present, merge the changes into current open document before committing changes. In this case you will only be able to commit to a new version of the script or config, using 'Force Commit New Version'. This is to ensure that changes are not lost by committing over top of the current version.